Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Dr.'s Office Funday!

Guess I could post this from last Friday... Blogger hates cell phones apparently.

Dr's office annual = annual anger management test.

I have spectatularly bad luck with Dr's offices. I've never seen the same dr twice in the last 7 yrs. I never get in on the first scheduled appointment. I am almost always asked to reschedule. Usually takes multiple calls to get a prescription refilled regardless of the dr office I'm going through.

So I shouldn't be surprised that when I show up for my 2pm Friday dr appt, I'm told that I was a "no show" for the day before. I specifically asked for a Friday and agreed to the 14th. I considered calling to confirm, but didn't. My own fault there... kinda, I shouldn't have to, I know.

Instead of doing the normal reschedule thing. I snap a bit and tell the woman that I specifically asked for a Friday, otherwise I could have gotten in earlier in the month. This is not my fault. I scheduled this day and can't take off days as I please. Last year I was rescheduled 4 times and ended up seeing a different doctor than the one I'd previously scheduled with and now neither of them are here. I am scheduled with yet another doctor and the office is completely empty, so maybe she can see if I can be fit into my appointment time.

She checks and I can be fit in, so I start to fill out paperwork... less than 5 minutes. Then I realize they are having problems with working the scanner to scan my insurance card. The main receptionist is new and training an even newer girl. After 10 minutes of watching them struggle I offer to take a look. Nope! They call a guy from another office to come over. 20 minutes and my insurance is scanned in finally. Then I sit and wait. And wait. I see my doctor walk in and out of the office a couple times. I'm getting irritated. I'm sitting in a high barstool-like chair directly across from the receptionist window. It's now over an hour in a pretty much empty waiting room. The only other people coming are for quick shots or prescription refills. I finally ask what's the deal... Oh, we forgot about you since you're not on the schedule.

My doctor overhears this and asks who I'm waiting for... maybe a family member or someone? No, now they can't find my file. It was misfiled. My doctor had to find it herself... no joke. She's telling me this story once I finally make it behind the door. She found it filed under my first name, instead of my last. Filing obviously requires a doctorate. All in all, hour and a half wait for a fifteen minute visit.

Almost forgot... about 10 min before the waiting room scene was over, this family walked in. Super pregnant woman and toddler come in and check in at the window. She's drenched in this vanilla scent. I am immediately getting a headache. I starting to think how I wish I could inform this woman that vanilla should be a subtle scent, unless you're a stripper. Then being drenched in vanilla is acceptable- only then. That's when the guy comes in. The kid is running amok, and the woman goes and sits behind the guy and start massaging his neck. He starts moaning and grunting very um, suggestively. All I can think is, "Stop, stop... I don't need a reenactment of why she's preggers. Ridiculous!

No comments:

Post a Comment