Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Tuesday... and the Long Vacation

Today... today was crappy. I got up and canned some apple butter (more about that tomorrow) and went to work. Got there a little later than usual... boiling water takes forever I've decided. Still this isn't uncommon, the office is pretty relaxed about schedules. Working through my email... lots of email, ugh. Printing stuff I needed to do or needed to print and file. Two hours later and still not done with email, but getting there. Wanting to talk to Ty, but he's not been very responsive lately. Kind of debating whether to sulk here, or move on for a bit. I hate the hot and cold treatment, but that's another post.

Then the head of HR pops her head over the desk and asks to talk to me for a moment. Now I know whenever she is involved that it isn't good, but really why would I worry. I didn't turn in my benefits package yesterday, but why would she be here for that? I know, I was grasping here a bit. Then we go to the big conference room and she shuts the door and I sit down to her saying that, "I want to let you know that we are making today your last day."

Yeah, and then I signed Cobra papers and received some papers about my 401k (whole month's worth). I asked reason, and was told "I don't have any details and Laura's not here, because she's traveling". I asked again, for anything at all and got the same story... no answers; no reasons. "Aja is packing your desk right now" So I can't pack my own desk or even go look at it? Noo (like I'm crazy). I'm told to look through the boxes and see if there's anything I'm missing- sent HR back twice looking for things. Couldn't find one, sigh. Then I needed help to move my two boxes and fish tank out to the car. "Good luck"

Pretty much stuck in a "wth" moment at this point. Pulled into an apt complex and asked if Ty knew or if Lance knew. Needed my bosses cell number to get answers. Ty didn't know til I told him. Lance didn't know since Aja started packing my stuff and Aja knew this morning and said the only thing was that Laura was upset about yesterday. I called in yesterday... first attempt at apple butter canning sucked and took forever and then I was gonna get my car inspected and registered (didn't happen because it was tire day everywhere apparently). I'm trying to see who can go to lunch and no one can... not Ty, not Chad, so I called Hadyn from pole class. She got laid off two weeks ago.

I'm on my way to meet her, thinking I should go get my car inspected and registered today. I have a coupon for an oil change and inspection for $15. I'm stopped at the stoplight and looking for it in the mess in the passenger seat. Found it and then I thought the car in front of me started to pull forward, so I started too. Well, crap, he was only pulling forward the extra space ahead of him and the light was still red. So I rear-ended him. Awesome. His bumper is scratched, but my license plate was snapped off and the hood won't shut all the way... frame is bent slightly in the front. Got a ticket for unsafe movement of a stopped vehicle or something, ticket for my lack of inspection, ticket for lack of registration. $275 is the grand total here.

Found out that Kansas employers can terminate employment at any time for any reason or no reason. My mom suggested I ask for a copy of my file to get copies of my reviews and to also ask again for a reason. I can file unemployment as being laid off when not given a reason though. I don't fully understand the KS unemployment agency stuff, but it looks like within 7 days of electronically filing a claim, I will get a letter with a specified time that I will be called and it is my responsibility to be there to answer it and give an interview of my version of events. The same will happen with my former employer. They then compare the stories and determine whether I was fired for misconduct or gross misconduct. If I was let go for either of those reasons, then I will be denied. I can then file an appeal that is rarely overturned.

Basically, besides the wondering, I can also be broadsided later, if they choose to give the DOL a really bad reason. I know that the way I wasn't allowed to pack up my desk is normal there, but it makes me feel like I did something huge. So I go over everything in my mind and try and think about what would be an immediate termination offense. I am leaving it at this... facts of the day and then this paragraph of concerns and thoughts. At least until I have a reason or something more factual than any of the ideas running through my head.

1 comment:

  1. This is crazy! I don't know what to say except I'm reading and I'm here to talk if you need to. I have faith that you're gonna do great on your job search, but let me know if I can help!

    ReplyDelete